Introduction: Why I’m doing this next cleanse

The past 3 years for me have been all about moving towards a more holistic lifestyle. Mind, body, spirit.

The catalyst was a sudden end to a long term relationship. At 28 I found myself single for the first time in a long time. And, over the course of the next couple years, I realized I didn’t know who I was outside of a relationship. So I started the journey to discover my authentic self.

Without getting into the whole story too much, I’ll focus on the body aspect of the changes I made in my life. I started eating less processed foods, moved my body more, and more importantly started listening to my body. And when I really listened I noticed that some things weren’t quite right. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t think I was going to die or that I had some serious disease, but I did believe I could feel better. My MD didn’t really listen and just wanted to prescribe me antibiotics all the time. (Uhm: NO!) So I started seeing an ND (who actually listened to me!) instead.

This particular journey is all about health in my body and cells. This year I’ve already done a couple cleanses: one for my liver and one for Candida. Which essentially meant cutting out dairy, sugar, gluten and alcohol for periods of time. Shortly after the Candida cleanse, I developed a crazy itchy rash and have had it for several weeks. It’s seriously annoying and frustrating.

A few days ago I had a live cell analysis. I got to see my blood under a microscope! It was very cool. Unfortunately, it showed exactly what my Naturopath had suspected: Candida. As a life long sugar addict, this isn’t a big shocker to me. The results of the analysis also showed rouleaux, or a stacking of the red blood cells. This, I believe, is due to inflammation and can be related to energy levels. It also showed kidney and liver distress as well as a parasite (seriously gross, but common when there is an abundance of Candida).

Too often we eat for pleasure and for our mouths and not enough for nutrition and our bodies. I believe there is a balance, and am determined to find it.

As a result of the cell analysis, I am starting a more intense Candida cleanse. I will be taking specific herbal pills, but will also be on a strict diet. Most fruits are out as well as anything with sugar or yeast. Essentially I can eat vegetables, quinoa, berries and lemons. Okay, okay, there’s lots more than that, but that is the gist of it.

This is a 30 day cleanse that I have chosen to do during probably one of the busiest months of my year. I am a wedding photographer, and we’re right smack dab in the middle of wedding season. I’ve decided that if I can get through this month, I can get through anything 😉

Leave a Reply

